For Kaiser Permanente non-union and salaried employees

The Kaiser Permanente Salaried Pension: When It Can Start, and How It Is Paid.

Written for non-union salaried employees of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals, whether you are still building toward a pension or deciding how to take one.

The plans

Which Kaiser Permanente Retirement Plans Are Yours

Kaiser Foundation Health Plan sponsors several retirement plans, and a plan's name does not tell you who is in it. The plans' own filings do.

For non-union salaried employees of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals, three plans do most of the work. The pension is the Kaiser Permanente Salaried Retirement Plan, which is Supplement 1-A of the larger Kaiser Permanente Retirement Plan. Beside it sit the Kaiser Permanente Supplemental Savings and Retirement Plan, which Kaiser funds, and the Kaiser Permanente Tax Sheltered Annuity Plan, a 403(b) plan most people call the TSA.

Supplement 1-A covers, among other groups, non-union salaried employees of the participating Kaiser companies, which include Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals, and non-union employees of the Southern California Region of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, with some exclusions such as students, trainees and certain research roles. The Retirement Plan has other supplements, and this page describes only Supplement 1-A. Your pension statement names the supplement that applies to you.

If you have been looking for a Kaiser 401(k) match, the filings point somewhere else. The 2024 audited financial statements for the Kaiser Permanente 401(k) Retirement Plan do not list non-union employees among those eligible. The TSA's statements do, and Kaiser's Southern California benefits summary names the TSA as the savings plan for Health Plan and Hospitals employees. For this group, the TSA is the plan to look at.

A curved coastal road above the ocean
Pay and service set the formula. When the pension starts, and how it is paid, is yours to decide.

Three common misreadings

Three Things the Kaiser Pension Is Often Mistaken For

  1. “The Kaiser pension only pays monthly checks. There's no lump sum.”

    Under Supplement 1-A, the actuary's summary filed with the plan's Form 5500 lists a lump sum among the optional forms, alongside several annuities and installments of up to 360 months. It is calculated with the IRS-prescribed interest rate and mortality table for the month two months before your benefit starts, so its size is not fixed in advance.

  2. “If I leave before 55, my pension waits until 65.”

    Not necessarily. Leave with at least 15 years of service and you can start a reduced benefit as early as 55, or when your age and service reach 75. And from January 1, 2026, a non-represented participant who leaves before meeting the early retirement requirements may elect an actuarially equivalent benefit before 65.

  3. “Putting more into my TSA lowers the pay my pension is based on.”

    Final average compensation is your monthly base pay rate averaged over your highest 60 consecutive months in your last 120, and it includes what you defer by salary reduction to the TSA and similar plans. It leaves out overtime and bonuses, but not your own TSA contributions.

The formula

How the Kaiser Permanente Pension Is Calculated

The plan's actuary summarises the formula in the plan's own Form 5500 filing. It is short, and every term in it is defined.

Under Supplement 1-A, the monthly pension at 65 is 1.5% of your final average compensation multiplied by your years of credited service. If $17.50 multiplied by your years of credited service would be higher, you receive that instead. A small additional amount applies to service before 1968 with certain organizations, and the pension is reduced for any benefit another plan pays for the same period of service.

Final average compensation is your average monthly compensation over the highest 60 consecutive months within your last 120 months of employment. Monthly compensation is your monthly rate of base pay. It leaves out overtime, bonuses and other special allowances, and it includes what you contribute by salary reduction to the TSA and to plans such as a 401(k), a cafeteria plan or a commuter benefit.

A year of credited service is a calendar year with 2,000 or more hours of employment, and a year with fewer hours earns a proportional share. For certain California participants who are vested when they leave, accumulated sick leave hours count toward credited service, subject to minimums for some groups.

For illustration only, with numbers that belong to no one: a final average compensation of $10,000 a month and 20 years of credited service gives 1.5% times $10,000 times 20, or $3,000 a month at 65, before any reduction for starting early or for the form of payment you choose.

The three plans for non-union salaried employees, side by side
Pension (Supplement 1-A)Supplemental Savings and Retirement PlanTax Sheltered Annuity Plan (TSA)
Who pays inKaiser onlyKaiser, plus optional after-tax contributions of 1% to 10%You, 1% to 75% of eligible pay, plus Kaiser for certain groups
When you joinAfter one year with at least 1,000 hoursAfter two years of employmentFrom hire, with automatic enrollment at 2% unless you opt out
What Kaiser providesA pension of 1.5% of final average compensation for each year of credited service5% of compensationContributions for certain groups as the plan document defines. No public formula
VestingAfter five years of serviceFully vested at all timesYour money at once. Kaiser's 20% a year, fully after five years
After you leavePayable at 65, or from 55 with 15 years of service, reducedPayable on leaving. Balances over $5,000 can stayPayable on leaving. Balances over $5,000 can stay
How it can be paidAnnuities, installments up to 360 months, or a lump sumAnnuities, fixed installments, or a lump sumAs the plan document provides
Recent changeFrom January 1, 2026, non-represented leavers may start an actuarially equivalent benefit before 65Participation ended for certain non-union, non-executive employees in 2025Automatic 1% yearly increase up to 6%, effective July 1, 2024

What this assumes

A wall calendar and a planner on a desk

The Kaiser Permanente Pension Formula Is Fixed. The Date and the Form Are Not.

Once your pay and service are set, what remains is when the pension starts, which form it takes, how the TSA and the supplemental account are drawn around it, and what retiree medical asks of your retirement date. Those decisions interact, and they are easier to settle together than one at a time.

When it can start

When You Can Retire From Kaiser Permanente With a Pension

Three ages matter, and one of them is a sum rather than an age.

Normal retirement age is 65. You join the plan after one year of employment with at least 1,000 hours, and you are vested, meaning the benefit is yours whether or not you stay, after five years of service, where a year of service is a calendar year with at least 1,000 hours.

You qualify for early retirement at 55 with 15 years of service, or once your age and your years of service add up to at least 75. An early benefit is reduced for each year it starts before 65: by 3% a year between 60 and 65, and by 5% a year between 55 and 60. Worked through, a benefit starting at 60 is 85% of the age-65 amount, and one starting at 55 is 60%.

Leaving before 55 does not always mean waiting until 65. If you leave with at least 15 years of service, you can start a reduced benefit as early as 55, or when your age and service reach 75, reduced the same way. And from January 1, 2026, a participant who is not represented by a union and leaves before meeting the early retirement requirements may elect an actuarially equivalent benefit before 65.

Working past 65 is covered too. You can start your pension while still employed after 65, and a benefit that starts later than 65 is the greater of what you have earned and your age-65 benefit adjusted for the later start.

How it is paid

The Kaiser Permanente Pension: Lump Sum or Monthly Payments

The formula decides the amount. You decide the form, and the forms are not all worth the same.

If you are unmarried, the standard form is a life annuity. If you are married, it is a 50% joint and survivor annuity, actuarially reduced so that payments can continue to your spouse. The other forms are a life annuity; joint and survivor annuities continuing 50%, 66-2/3% or 75% to a survivor; a life annuity with 5, 10, 15 or 20 years of payments guaranteed; a level income option that pays more before Social Security begins and less after; a lump sum; a 100% joint and survivor annuity with a 15-year guarantee and a pop-up; and installments over a fixed number of months, up to 360.

The actuary's summary says the 50% joint and survivor annuity and the 100% joint and survivor annuity with the pop-up are worth more, actuarially, than the life annuity, and that every other form, the lump sum included, is worth the same as the life annuity.

The lump sum is not a number set in advance. It is calculated with the mortality table and interest rate prescribed under Internal Revenue Code section 417(e) for the month two months before your benefit starts. The rates in that month move it, and so does the start date you choose, so the same pension can produce a different lump sum depending on when it begins.

If you are married, choosing a form other than the joint and survivor annuity requires your spouse's written consent.

While you are working

The Kaiser Permanente TSA and the Supplemental Savings and Retirement Plan

Two accounts sit beside the pension. One depends on what you put in. The other has depended on Kaiser alone, and in 2025 that changed for some employees.

The TSA takes contributions of 1% to 75% of eligible pay, with catch-up contributions from age 50. Kaiser's Southern California summary says you are enrolled automatically at 2% unless you opt out, with the rate rising by 1% a year to 6%, and that you can contribute pre-tax, Roth or both. Your own contributions are always fully vested.

Kaiser makes TSA contributions for certain employee groups, as the plan document defines them. We have not found the formula in any public document for Southern California, so this page does not state one. What the filings do state is the vesting: employer contributions vest 20% for each year of service and are fully vested after five years.

The Supplemental Savings and Retirement Plan is a money purchase plan. Under the terms described in its 2022, 2023 and 2024 filings, Kaiser contributes 5% of compensation after two years of employment, you are fully vested in it at all times, and you can add after-tax contributions of 1% to 10%.

The 2024 audited financial statements add that, after the end of that year, the plan was amended to end participation by certain non-union, non-executive employees, effective February 1, 2025 and July 1, 2025. The filing does not say which employees. Whether you are still accruing in this plan is a question your latest statement answers, and one worth settling before you plan around it.

Both accounts offer participant-directed brokerage accounts. The filings name Vanguard as trustee and custodian, with a Schwab brokerage service offered through it. A brokerage window is a choice to make deliberately, not a feature to use because it is there.

One interaction runs the opposite way from what people expect. Final average compensation counts the pay you defer into the TSA, so saving more there does not shrink the pay your pension is based on.

When you leave

What Happens to Each Kaiser Permanente Plan When You Leave

Each plan answers the question differently, and one of them sets a deadline.

The pension stays yours once you are vested. Depending on your age and service when you leave, it is payable at 65, from 55 with 15 years of service, or earlier as an actuarially equivalent benefit under the change that took effect on January 1, 2026.

The TSA and the Supplemental Savings and Retirement Plan can pay out when you retire, leave, become disabled or die, and a balance over $5,000 can stay in the plan after you go. The TSA can also pay out from age 59 1/2, or for hardship as the plan defines it. Employer TSA money you have not yet vested in does not leave with you.

The plan's 42nd amendment sets a time limit on claims for benefits. A claim must be filed with the plan administrator by the later of two years after your termination of employment, or two years after the plan gives you written notice of your vested status or of the components of your benefit payment. If something about your pension looks wrong when you leave, that clock is the reason not to let it sit.

Retiree medical is its own plan. Its 2024 audited financial statements describe medical benefits for eligible retirees of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals, including premium subsidies and health reimbursement arrangements, and they reserve Kaiser's right to change or end those benefits. Kaiser's Southern California summary says eligibility depends on your age and years of service when you retire, without giving the rule. Because the rule turns on the date you retire, confirm it in HRconnect before you choose one.

The edges of this page

What This Page Does Not Cover About Kaiser Permanente Benefits

Everything above comes from the plans' own filings and Kaiser's own benefit summaries. These are the limits of that.

The TSA employer contribution formula and the 401(k) match. Neither is in any public document we found for Southern California.

Which employees the 2025 change to the Supplemental Savings and Retirement Plan affects, and what, if anything, replaced it.

The Southern California rule for retiree medical eligibility.

Any pension supplement other than Supplement 1-A, and the plans of Permanente Medical Group physicians and union-represented employees.

Anything newer than the documents. The actuary's summary reflects the plan through its 43rd amendment, signed in December 2023, and the changes listed in the 2024 filing, including the one effective January 1, 2026. It describes itself as a brief summary and refers readers to the governing plan documents, which control wherever the two differ. Your pension statement, HRconnect and your Total Rewards Statement are where to confirm what applies to you.

Questions people ask before booking

Is BAS Financial affiliated with Kaiser Permanente?

No. BAS Financial is not an authorized financial services provider or vendor for Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Kaiser Foundation Hospitals or Kaiser Permanente, and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any of them. Company and plan names are used only to describe the benefit structures discussed. This is independent financial education, not a company benefit or a company-sponsored resource.

I'm a Permanente Medical Group physician, or I'm represented by a union. Does this page apply to me?

No. This page is written from the filings and Kaiser documents that describe the plans for non-union salaried employees of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals, and it does not describe the plans for Permanente Medical Group physicians or for union-represented employees. Southern California Permanente Medical Group physicians have their own page at www.bas-financial.com/kaiser-permanente-scpmg-keogh-and-401k-guide. If you would like to talk through your own situation, you can book a consultation at www.bas-financial.com/book/kaiser-kfhp.

How is the Kaiser pension calculated?

Under Supplement 1-A, 1.5% of your final average compensation times your years of credited service, or $17.50 times your years of credited service if that is higher, payable monthly from 65. Final average compensation is your average monthly base pay over the highest 60 consecutive months in your last 120.

What is the Kaiser early retirement age?

55 with 15 years of service, or earlier once your age and years of service add up to 75. The benefit is reduced by 5% a year between 55 and 60 and by 3% a year between 60 and 65.

Does the Kaiser pension have a lump sum option?

Under Supplement 1-A, yes. It is one of the plan's optional forms, and it is calculated with the IRS-prescribed interest rate and mortality table for the month two months before your benefit starts. If you are married, choosing it requires your spouse's written consent.

How long does it take to vest in the Kaiser pension?

Five years of service, where a year of service is a calendar year with at least 1,000 hours. You are also vested if you are still employed at 65 with at least one year of service.

Is there a Kaiser 401(k) match?

For non-union salaried employees, the filings point to the TSA rather than the 401(k). Kaiser contributes to the TSA for certain employee groups as the plan document defines them, and that formula is not in any public document we found for Southern California. Employer TSA contributions vest 20% a year and are fully vested after five years of service.

Am I still in the Supplemental Savings and Retirement Plan?

The plan's 2024 audited financial statements say it was amended to end participation by certain non-union, non-executive employees, effective February 1, 2025 and July 1, 2025, without saying which. Your most recent statement will show whether contributions are still arriving. Contributions already in your account were fully vested under the terms in the plan's filings.

When do I qualify for Kaiser retiree medical?

Kaiser's Southern California benefits summary says eligibility depends on your age and years of service when you retire, and does not state the rule. Confirm it in HRconnect before you set a retirement date, because the date you choose can decide it.

Do I have to be in San Diego to work with you?

No. BAS Financial is based in San Diego and works with clients nationwide.

A guide to the pension and the savings plans, by email

A plain-English guide to Supplement 1-A and the two savings plans beside it: how the pension is calculated, when it can start, how the forms of payment compare, what changed in 2025 and 2026, and a checklist for the years before you leave.

Request the complimentary Kaiser Permanente salaried pension guide and it arrives by email.

Talk through your retirement date, or what surrounds it

Bring your most recent pension statement and your TSA and supplemental plan statements. If you are still building, that is enough to see how your pay and service work under the formula. If a date is in view, it is enough to look at the start date, the form of payment and the order the accounts come out in, together.

Book a consultation

A 30-minute call. No document gathering beforehand, and no obligation afterwards.

What these figures assume

Every number on this page depends on the assumptions below. Change one and the result changes.

The plans, and where each statement on this page comes from

  • Kaiser Permanente Retirement Plan, sponsored by Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc., EIN 94-1340523, plan number 001, effective April 1, 1958. Form 5500 for plan year 2024, received 14 October 2025, and for plan year 2023, received 15 October 2024, each with audited financial statements and the enrolled actuary's Schedule SB attachment, which includes a Summary of Plan Provisions for Supplement 1-A, the Kaiser Permanente Salaried Retirement Plan. The Supplement 1-A text is the same in both years.
  • The actuary's summary describes itself this way: "This section provides a brief summary of the benefits under the plan that are being valued in this report. Refer to the official governing documents for further details of the plan's provisions." It reflects "Amendment 43 to the September 1, 2015 plan restatement, signed on December 18, 2023."
  • Supplement 1-A eligibility, verbatim, in part: "A nonunion salaried Employee of a Participating Company" and "A non-union Employee of the Southern California Region of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc., excluding lifestyle educators, Research Nurses, physician assistants (in Baldwin Park and Downey), Los Angeles hourly (research), students, trainees, and interns and fellows."
  • Kaiser Permanente Supplemental Savings and Retirement Plan, plan number 003; Kaiser Permanente Tax Sheltered Annuity Plan, plan number 039; Kaiser Permanente 401(k) Retirement Plan, plan number 025: Form 5500 filings for plan year 2024 with audited financial statements, and for the Supplemental plan also 2023 and 2022.
  • Kaiser, Your Total Rewards at Kaiser Permanente: Salaried and Non-Union Non-Exempt Employees, Southern California Region, for prospective employees, dated March 2023.
  • Participant counts, plan assets and averages are not quoted. The Retirement Plan's totals cover every supplement in every region.
  • Where a summary and the plan document differ, the plan document governs. Any of these plans may have been amended after the documents cited here.

The pension

  • Formula, verbatim: "(a) 1.5% of final average compensation times years of credited service, or (b) $17.50 times years of credited service", the greater of the two, plus "0.25% of final average compensation times years of credited service prior to January 1, 1968 with certain organizations."
  • Final average compensation, verbatim: "A participant's average monthly compensation for the highest 60 consecutive months of employment in the last 120 months of employment." Monthly compensation "does not include overtime, bonuses, or other special allowances" and "includes the monthly amount contributed under salary reduction agreements to plans under IRC Sections 403(b), 401(k), 129, 125, and 132(f)(4)."
  • Early retirement, verbatim: "Age 55 and 15 years of service, or the sum of years of age plus years of service equals at least 75." Reduction: "The benefit reduces 3% for each year from age 60 to 65 and 5% for each year from age 55 through 60." The 85% and 60% figures are that rule worked through.
  • Vesting, verbatim: "5 years of service and one hour of employment after January 1, 1989 or have one year of service and still actively employed at age 65 or older." Leaving before 55 with 15 years: a reduced benefit "beginning as early as age 55, or when the participant's years of age plus years of service equal at least 75."
  • The change effective January 1, 2026, verbatim from the plan's provisions summary: "a non-represented terminated participant who has not met supplement specific early retirement eligibility requirements may elect to receive an actuarially equivalent benefit prior to age 65." It is the 43rd amendment's new Section 9.4(c).
  • Forms of payment are the seven listed in the Supplement 1-A summary. Lump sum valuation, verbatim: "For form of payment, actuarial equivalence is based on the Revenue Code 417(e) applicable mortality table and applicable interest rate for the month which is two months before the benefit commencement date." The audited financial statements for 2023 and 2024 also state that benefits are payable as a "single life annuity, joint and survivor annuity, or lump sum."
  • Spousal consent: Kaiser's January 2020 benefits handbook for salaried and non-union non-exempt employees states that consent must be in writing. Federal law requires it for a married participant choosing a form other than the joint and survivor annuity.
  • The illustration uses hypothetical numbers and ignores the offset, the pre-1968 amount and any reduction.

The TSA and the Supplemental Savings and Retirement Plan

  • TSA, from its 2024 audited financial statements: contributions of "1% to 75% of eligible compensation"; automatic enrollment at "2% of eligible compensation" for certain groups and, effective July 1, 2024, annual increases of 1% "up to a maximum auto-deferral of 6%"; employer contributions "for certain employee groups as defined by the Plan document"; employer money vests "20% per year of service" and is "100% vested after 5 years of service." Eligibility includes "Certain non-union employee[s]".
  • Kaiser's Southern California summary: "Tax Sheltered Annuity Plan is for Kaiser Foundation Health Plan or Hospitals employees", with automatic enrollment at 2% rising 1% a year to 6%, and pre-tax or Roth contributions.
  • Supplemental Savings and Retirement Plan, from its audited financial statements for 2022, 2023 and 2024: "The Employer contributes 5% of the compensation of participating employees after 2 years of employment"; after-tax contributions "in increments of 1% up to a maximum 10%"; "fully and immediately vested". The 2024 statements: "Subsequent to year end the plan was amended to end participation by certain non-union, non-executive employees effective February 1, 2025 and July 1, 2025."
  • 401(k) Retirement Plan: its 2024 audited financial statements list the groups eligible to participate, and non-union employees are not among them.
  • Brokerage: both plans' 2024 statements name Vanguard Fiduciary Trust Company as trustee for "participant directed brokerage accounts". The TSA's Schedule C describes a fee for Vanguard's work to "integrate Schwab's brokerage service for plan participants".

Leaving, and retiree medical

  • Payment on leaving, from the TSA and Supplemental plan 2024 audited financial statements: on "retirement, death, disability, or termination of employment"; "Participants with account balances greater than $5,000 have the option of leaving their accounts in the Plan after termination." The TSA adds age 59 1/2 and hardship.
  • Claims time limit, verbatim from the 42nd amendment, Section 17.6(a): a claim "must be filed with the Plan Administrator by the latest of: (i) Two years following the date a Participant has a Termination of Employment; and (ii) Two years following the date the Participant is provided with written notice ... of the Participant's Vested status and/or the components of his benefit payment as applicable to the claim."
  • Retiree medical: the Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. Retiree Health and Welfare Plan's 2024 audited financial statements describe benefits for "eligible retirees (as defined in the Plan document)" of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals, including "insurance premium subsidies, and health reimbursement arrangements", and state that the sponsor may "modify the benefits provided, to discontinue its contributions at any time, and to terminate the Plan". Kaiser's Southern California summary: "You may be eligible for retiree health benefits when you retire, depending on your age and years of service at retirement."
Schedule a Complimentary Consultation