For Northrop Grumman employees
Your Northrop Grumman Retirement Package Was Set by Your Hire Date. Two Dates Decide Which One You Have.
1 July 2008 and 1 April 2016. Which side of those you landed on determines whether you have a pension, whether you get an automatic company contribution, and which of three 401(k) match schedules applies to you. Most people know their own answer to none of these.
Two dates
The Three Northrop Grumman Retirement Eras, and Which One You Are In
Everything else on this page follows from where your hire date falls.
Hired before 1 July 2008: you are in a defined benefit pension. Most of Northrop's pension plans closed to new hires on that date, and the company's own Total Rewards material states the program is available to employees hired before it.
Hired between 1 July 2008 and 1 April 2016: no pension, but you are eligible for the Retirement Account Contribution, an automatic company contribution of 3%, 4% or 5% of pay depending on your age, which the company pays whether or not you contribute anything yourself. The RAC begins exactly where pension eligibility ends, which is not a coincidence; it is the replacement benefit.
Hired after 1 April 2016: no pension and no RAC, but a materially better 401(k) match, up to 6% of pay under five years of service and up to 7% after, against 4% for people hired earlier. If you joined through the Orbital ATK acquisition there is a separate Non-Elective Contribution as well.
None of these is better or worse in the abstract, and you do not get to choose. What you do get to choose is whether you are contributing enough to collect what your era actually offers, and most of the money left on the table at Northrop is left there by people who never checked which schedule applies to them.

Hired before April 2016
What Northrop Grumman Matches on Each Slice of Your Pay
- 2.0% of pay
- 1.0% of pay
- 1.0% of payWhere your last matched dollars sit, at an 8% deferral
Three things people get wrong
Three Costly Misreadings of These Plans
“"Everyone here gets the same match, so there is nothing to work out."”
There are three schedules. Hired before April 2016, the maximum company match is 4% of pay at an 8% deferral. Hired after, it is 6% of pay, rising to 7% once you pass five years of service.
“"I joined after the pension closed, so I got nothing in its place."”
If you were hired between 1 July 2008 and 1 April 2016 you are eligible for the Retirement Account Contribution: 3%, 4% or 5% of pay by age, paid whether or not you contribute anything. Northrop funded $49.3 million of it for 2025.
“"My pension is frozen, so the balance just sits there."”
Final average pay formulas froze on 31 December 2014, but cash balance pay credits and interest credits continue. Northrop reported $217 million of pension service cost for 2025, and the cash balance interest rate credited at 31 December 2025 was 4.87%.
The match
Three Northrop Grumman Match Schedules, and They Are Not Close
The maximum company match ranges from 4% of pay to 7% of pay, decided entirely by when you were hired and how long you have been there.
If you were hired before 1 April 2016, the match is 100% of your first 2% of eligible pay, 50% of the next 2%, and 25% of the next 4%. Nothing above 8% is matched. Defer the full 8% and the company adds 4% of your pay.
Notice what the ladder does. Your first 2% earns 2.0% of pay. Your next 2% earns 1.0%. Your next 4%, twice as much of your own money, also earns 1.0%. The rate collapses as you go, which does not make the later contributions pointless but does mean the match is not the argument for them.
If you were hired after 1 April 2016, the shape is different and better: 100% of your first 4%, then 50% of the next 4% if you have under five years of service, or 50% of the next 6% once you pass five years. That is a maximum of 6% of pay, rising to 7% at your fifth anniversary, and it rises without you doing anything except staying, which is worth knowing about a month before the anniversary rather than a year after.
One thing no public filing answers: whether the match is trued up at year end if your contributions are uneven across the year. The 11-K describes the match as a formula against contribution percentages and simply does not address pay-period versus annual computation. We are not going to infer it either way. Your summary plan description will say.
| If you were hired | The formula | Maximum company match |
|---|---|---|
| Before 1 April 2016 | 100% of your first 2%, 50% of the next 2%, 25% of the next 4% | 4% of pay, at an 8% deferral |
| After 1 April 2016, under 5 years of service | 100% of your first 4%, 50% of the next 4% | 6% of pay, at an 8% deferral |
| After 1 April 2016, 5 or more years of service | 100% of your first 4%, 50% of the next 6% | 7% of pay, at a 10% deferral |

Three Pieces, One Retirement Date
A pension that may be built from more than one formula, a match that moved when you crossed five years or when you were hired, and a company contribution you may be receiving without having noticed. Each one is documented somewhere. None of it adds up to a figure you could retire on until someone puts the three together, in the right order, with enough runway left to act on the answer.
The pension
The Northrop Grumman Cash Balance Pension Is Closed to New Entrants but Still Growing
Three different things happened to the pension, at three different times, and they get conflated constantly.
New entry stopped on 1 July 2008. Final average pay formulas froze on 31 December 2014. Cash balance pay credits and interest credits did not stop and have not stopped, Northrop reported $217 million of pension service cost for 2025 alone, which is the accounting signature of a plan still accruing benefits.
So if you were told your pension is frozen, that is true of the final-average-pay formulas and false of the cash balance. Which of those you have depends on your heritage plan, and for many long-tenured people the answer is both.
Interest on the cash balance is credited monthly at the 30-year Treasury rate with a four-month lookback, subject to a minimum of 2.25% a year. The rate credited at 31 December 2025 was 4.87%. Be careful with a second figure that circulates: the 10-K quotes 4.84% as of the same date, but that is the actuarial assumption for the following year, not the rate credited to your account. They are different numbers doing different jobs.
One asymmetry worth knowing if you are in the Retirement Value Plan subplan: the RVP cash balance is described without the 2.25% minimum that applies to the Pension Plan and Plan B. The floor is stated for those and not for the RVP.
The pay credit itself is a percentage of pay that varies by your points, age plus service, and rises as they accumulate. Northrop discloses only the percentages applicable to named executives, so the full schedule by points is not public. Anyone quoting you a complete tier table for this is working from something other than a filing. Your pension summary plan description carries it.
Timing
One Northrop Grumman Subplan Lets You Take It Immediately. The Others Do Not.
This is the single largest planning difference between the subplans, and almost nobody knows which side of it they are on.
Under the Pension Plan and Retirement Plan B cash balance, early retirement eligibility begins at age 55 with ten years of service, and benefits commenced before normal retirement age of 65 may be reduced.
Under the Retirement Value Plan subplan, a vested cash balance benefit may be distributed after termination of employment immediately, regardless of age, as a lump sum or as any of several actuarially equivalent annuities.
That difference is worth real money and real optionality to anyone considering leaving before 55, and it is decided by which subplan holds your benefit rather than by anything you elect. It is the first thing to establish if an early departure is on the table.
The heritage Electronic Systems subplan is different again, a non-cash-balance formula of eligible pay multiplied by 2%, with early retirement at 58 with 30 years of service or 60 with 10.
Legacy names
If Your Paperwork Names a Company Northrop Grumman Acquired
Decades of acquisitions left a long list of benefit structures inside a small number of legal plans. The name on your statement may not be a plan that still exists under that name.
The Northrop Grumman Pension Plan absorbed the Retirement Value Plan, the Commercial Aircraft Division Salaried Retirement Plan, the Grumman Pension Plan, and the Norden Systems Employee Retirement Plan. The Electronic Systems Pension Plan, formerly the ESSD Pension Plan, is a subplan of it.
If you came from Orbital ATK, the Orbital ATK, Inc. Pension and Retirement Plan was renamed the Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems Pension and Retirement Plan and merged into the Pension Plan as a subplan on 1 January 2020. Inside it sit benefit structures still carrying their original names: the Alliant Techsystems Retirement Formula, the Alliant Techsystems Aerospace Pension Formula, the ATK SEG Retirement Formula, the Federal Cartridge Company Pension Formula, the ATK Pension Equity Formula, the Alliant Lake City Retirement Formula, the Alliant Techsystems Retirement Income Formula (GOCO), and the ATK Cash Balance Formula.
If you came from Thiokol, the Thiokol Propulsion Pension Plan merged into the Space & Mission Systems Corp. Salaried Pension Plan on the same date, carrying the Former Thiokol Propulsion Pension Plan Formula, the Thiokol Pension Equity Formula and the Thiokol Cash Balance Formula.
Aerojet and Westinghouse heritage sits in the Electronic Systems – Space Division plans, and Litton heritage in Retirement Plan B and in the separate Financial Security and Savings Program.
The practical point is not the history. It is that a benefit structure keeps its own rules after a merger. Two people with the same job title and the same tenure can be on entirely different formulas because of who employed them in 1998, and the only way to know which is to read the name on your own statement and match it.
The 401(k) menu
You Cannot Look Up Your Own Northrop Grumman Fund Lineup
Most of the core menu is common and collective trusts, which have no ticker and no public page.
The Savings Plan's core options are largely common or collective trusts rather than mutual funds: a U.S. Equity Fund, a U.S. Fixed-Income Fund, a Stable Value Account, an International Equity Fund, a Small Cap Fund, an Emerging Markets Fund, a Balanced Fund, the Northrop Grumman Fund holding company stock, and eleven Retirement Path target-date funds running out to 2070.
A mutual fund has a ticker, a public fact sheet and a Morningstar page. A collective trust generally has none of those. So a Northrop employee who wants to know what they hold, what it costs, or how it has performed against an alternative cannot simply look it up the way they could with almost any retail account. That is a disclosure and comparability problem rather than a criticism of the funds, several of which are perfectly reasonable vehicles.
There is also a Fidelity BrokerageLink window inside the plan, and it is heavily used by the standards of these things: $4.64 billion at the end of 2025, up from $4.02 billion a year earlier, against total plan net assets of $44.4 billion. That is around 10.5% of the plan, which is roughly three times the proportion at a comparable plan we have looked at recently.
One boundary: the Financial Security and Savings Program, the legacy Litton plan, has no BrokerageLink window at all. If your account is in the FSSP rather than the Savings Plan, that option does not exist for you.
Leaving
What the Northrop Grumman Savings Plan Lets You Do at Separation
The operative fact is that the plan does not force you out.
On termination of employment for any reason, you may take the entire balance as a lump sum, take installment payments, or take it as an annuity, net of any outstanding loan. You may roll it to an IRA or to another employer's plan. Otherwise distributions generally begin at your mandatory commencement date, which means the balance can stay where it is in the meantime.
That flexibility matters more than it sounds. The statutory age-55 exception to the 10% early distribution penalty, separating from service in or after the year you turn 55, is useless in a plan that forces a full distribution at separation, because the distribution happens whether the timing suits you or not. Northrop's plan permits partial and installment distributions, which is what makes the exception usable rather than theoretical.
Being precise about what that is and is not: the age-55 exception is statutory and does not require a plan provision. There is no public plan-document language addressing separation at or after 55, and we are not going to quote one that does not exist. How a specific distribution gets coded on your 1099-R is an operational matter for the Benefits Center, and worth confirming before you rely on it.
If you have both a pension and a 401(k), the sequence between them is its own decision. The Savings Plan accepts rollovers of benefit payments from certain company pension plans, which opens a route that is not always obvious.
The honest part
What Northrop Grumman's Filings Do Not Tell You
A great deal about these plans is public. Five things that matter are not.
Whether the 401(k) match is trued up at year end. Not addressed in the last three years of 11-K filings or in any public benefits material. The filing's silence is not evidence either way, an 11-K plan description is detailed but selective, and is under no obligation to mention a true-up.
The cash balance pay credit schedule by points. Only the percentages applying to named executives are disclosed.
The pension vesting schedule. It is in none of the filings, and it should not be assumed to match the 401(k)'s three years.
The tier table inside the Non-Elective Contribution's stated 2.5% to 4.0% band, for Orbital ATK heritage employees.
The Savings Plan's automatic enrolment default rate and the cap on its annual one-percent escalation. New employees are enrolled about 45 days after hire and escalated a percentage point a year, but the starting rate and the ceiling are not published.
Every one of those sits in a summary plan description you already have access to. Bringing yours to a first conversation converts most of this page from general to specific in about ten minutes.
Questions people ask before booking
Is BAS Financial affiliated with Northrop Grumman?
No. BAS Financial is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Northrop Grumman Corporation. Company names are used only to describe the employer benefit structures discussed. This is independent financial education, not a company benefit or a company-sponsored resource.
How do I find out whether I have a pension at all?
Your hire date decides it. Most of Northrop's pension plans closed to new hires on 1 July 2008, and the company's own material describes the program as available to employees hired before that date. If you were hired between 1 July 2008 and 1 April 2016 you have no pension but are eligible for the Retirement Account Contribution instead. Hired after 1 April 2016, you have neither, and a better 401(k) match in their place.
Where do these figures come from?
Northrop Grumman's own SEC filings: the Savings Plan Form 11-K for the year ended 31 December 2025, the 2026 proxy statement, the FY2025 annual report, and plan documents filed as exhibits to earlier annual reports. Every figure and its source is listed at the foot of this page. Where a figure is not in those filings, this page says so rather than estimating.
Does the 401(k) match get trued up at year end?
Not disclosed anywhere public, and we are not going to guess. The last three years of Form 11-K filings describe the match as a formula against contribution percentages and say nothing about whether it is computed per pay period or across the year. If it is per period, uneven contributions can cost you match that an annual calculation would have restored. Your summary plan description answers it, and it is worth checking before you change your deferral rate.
What is the Retirement Account Contribution, and am I getting one?
It is an automatic company contribution for employees hired or rehired between 1 July 2008 and 1 April 2016, paid annually in the first quarter of the following year. The amount is 3%, 4% or 5% of compensation depending on your age as of 31 December 2016, under 35, 35 to 49, or 50 and over. Note that the age snapshot is frozen at that date, so your tier never moves. You must be employed on the last day of the plan year to receive it.
My statement names a company Northrop acquired. Is that plan still real?
The benefit structure is real; the standalone plan usually is not. Orbital ATK's plan became a subplan of the Northrop Grumman Pension Plan on 1 January 2020 but its internal formulas kept their original names, and the same happened to Thiokol's plan inside the Space & Mission Systems plan. A benefit structure keeps its own rules after a merger, so the name on your paperwork still matters even when the plan behind it has been absorbed.
Can I use the age-55 rule to get at my 401(k) if I leave early?
The exception is statutory rather than something a plan grants, and it applies when you separate from service in or after the year you turn 55. What matters at the plan level is whether you are forced to take everything at once, and Northrop's plan is not that kind of plan, lump sum, installments and annuity are all available, and the balance can stay put until your mandatory commencement date. How a given distribution is coded on your 1099-R is an operational question for the Benefits Center, and worth confirming before relying on it.
Why can I not find my funds on Morningstar?
Because most of them are not mutual funds. The core menu is largely common and collective trusts, which have no ticker and no public fact sheet. It is a genuine comparability problem rather than a sign anything is wrong with the funds, and it is one reason a plan review here tends to be more useful than at an employer whose lineup you can simply look up.
Bring your hire date and your last statement
Most of this page turns specific in about ten minutes with two things in front of us: when you were hired, and what your most recent statement names. Between them they settle which era you are in, which match schedule applies, whether you have a pension and which formula it uses, whether a Retirement Account Contribution is landing each spring, and what your options look like if you leave before 55.
Book a consultationA 30-minute call. No document gathering beforehand, and no obligation afterwards.
What these figures assume
Every number on this page depends on the assumptions below. Change one and the result changes.
The 401(k) match, RAC and NEC
- Match for employees hired before 1 April 2016, 100% of the first 2% of eligible compensation, 50% of the next 2%, 25% of the next 4%; contributions above 8% are not matched. Maximum company match 4% of eligible pay at an 8% deferral. Northrop Grumman Savings Plan Form 11-K/A, FY2025, Note 1 'Description of the Plan'. High confidence, primary SEC filing.
- Match for most employees hired after 1 April 2016, 100% of the first 4% of eligible compensation, then 50% of the next 4% with under five years of service, or 50% of the next 6% with five or more. Maximum company match 6% of pay under five years and 7% at five or more. Same source, corroborated by Northrop's own 2026 Benefits Overview.
- The band on this page shows the pre-April-2016 schedule only, and its heading says so. Spans are percentage points of eligible pay, 2, 2 and 4, and every boundary (2%, 4%, 8%) is a plan boundary. The top rung is closed by the 8% ceiling above which nothing is matched, so no assumed bound was needed at either end.
- The two post-April-2016 schedules have only two tiers each and would fail the three-segment requirement for a threshold band. They are shown in the comparison table instead.
- Retirement Account Contribution, for certain employees hired or rehired between 1 July 2008 and 1 April 2016. 3% of compensation if under 35, 4% if 35 to 49, 5% if 50 or older, by age as of 31 December 2016. The age snapshot is frozen at that date. Paid annually in the first quarter of the following year; participants must be employed on the last day of the plan year. $49.3 million funded for 2025, remitted March 2026.
- Non-Elective Contribution, for certain employees who joined through the June 2018 Orbital ATK acquisition, hired between 1 January 2007 and 5 June 2018. Ranges from 2.5% to 4.0% of eligible compensation based on age and years of service. $25.3 million funded for 2025. The tier table inside that band is not public.
- Vesting, employee contributions and earnings are always 100% vested. The employer match, the RAC and the NEC vest after three years of service, other than for participants under certain collective bargaining agreements.
- Forfeitures reduced employer contributions by $27.4 million during 2025, with $4.6 million available at year end.
- Automatic enrolment approximately 45 days after hire, rehire or transfer, with contributions increasing one percentage point a year up to a plan-specified maximum. The default deferral rate and the escalation cap are not disclosed, a gap.
- Pre-tax, after-tax and Roth 401(k) contributions are all permitted, and the plan accepts rollovers including benefit payments from certain company pension plans.
- NOT STATED because it is not public: whether the match is trued up annually or funded per pay period. Not addressed in the FY2025, FY2024 or FY2023 filings or any public Northrop benefits material. An 11-K plan description is selective and is under no obligation to mention a true-up, so its silence is not evidence of absence.
- Eligible pay for plan purposes is limited by IRC §401(a)(17), $360,000 for 2026, per IRS Notice 2025-67.
The pension, the plan menu, and what is not public
- Closure to new hires, 'Most of the pension plans were closed to new hires in 2008', 2026 DEF 14A. The exact date of 1 July 2008 is from Northrop's own Total Rewards material, corroborated structurally by the Savings Plan 11-K, which gives the Retirement Account Contribution to employees hired between 1 July 2008 and 1 April 2016.
- Final average pay formulas were frozen as of 31 December 2014. 2026 DEF 14A.
- Accruals continue for cash balance participants. The 2026 proxy quotes a live pay-credit percentage as of 31 December 2025, and the FY2025 10-K reports pension service cost of $217 million for 2025 ($239 million in 2024, $236 million in 2023).
- Cash balance interest, credited monthly at the 30-year U.S. Treasury rate with a four-month lookback, subject to a minimum annual rate of 2.25%. The rate credited at 31 December 2025 was 4.87%. 2026 DEF 14A.
- Do not conflate that with 4.84%, which the FY2025 10-K gives as the actuarial crediting-rate assumption as of the same date, graded to 5.26% by 2031. One is the rate credited to accounts; the other is an accounting assumption.
- The Retirement Value Plan subplan is described without the 2.25% minimum. The floor is stated for the Pension Plan and Retirement Plan B cash balance only.
- Distribution, Pension Plan and Plan B cash balance: early retirement eligibility at age 55 with 10 years of service, with reduction possible before normal retirement age 65. RVP subplan: a vested cash balance benefit may be distributed after termination immediately, regardless of age, as a lump sum or actuarially equivalent annuities. 2026 DEF 14A.
- Heritage Electronic Systems subplan formula, eligible pay multiplied by 2%, eligible pay being salary plus bonus paid while participating, limited by §401(a)(17). Normal retirement age 65; early retirement at 58 with 30 years of service or 60 with 10.
- Pay credits are a percentage of pay varying by points (age plus service), credited monthly. Only the percentages applicable to named executives are disclosed, 6.5% for the Pension Plan and Plan B, 4.5% for the RVP subplan, as of 31 December 2025. The complete schedule by points is NOT public and no tier table is published here.
- Pension vesting schedule, not stated in the 10-K, the proxy, or any plan exhibit reached. A gap, and specifically not assumed to mirror the 401(k)'s three years.
- Named pension programs and merged structures are quoted from plan exhibits: the First Amendment to the Northrop Grumman Supplemental Plan 2 (2017), the First Amendment to the Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems DB SERP (2019), the Northrop Grumman ERISA Supplemental Plan (2013 restatement), and the Litton Industries Restoration Plan 2.
- The Ingalls Salaried Plan and the Avondale Plan are deliberately omitted from the legacy-name list on this page. Both relate to shipbuilding businesses spun off as Huntington Ingalls Industries on 31 March 2011, and whether those benefit structures remain inside Northrop's Retirement Plan B is unresolved.
- Self-directed brokerage, 'participant-directed brokerage accounts held in the Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC BrokerageLink Account'. $4,641,343 thousand at 31 December 2025 against $4,024,861 thousand a year earlier, and total plan net assets of $44,355,185 thousand, approximately 10.5% of the plan. Recordkeeper is Fidelity; trustee is State Street Bank and Trust Company. FY2025 Form 11-K.
- The Financial Security and Savings Program, the legacy Litton defined contribution plan, has no brokerage window.
- Core menu composition, U.S. Equity, U.S. Fixed-Income, Stable Value, International Equity, Small Cap, Emerging Markets and Balanced funds, the Northrop Grumman Fund holding company stock, and eleven Retirement Path target date funds running to 2070. Most are common or collective trusts rather than mutual funds, which is why they carry no ticker and no public fact sheet.
- Distribution at separation, 'participants may receive a lump-sum payment of their entire account balance, installment payments, or the total account balance as an annuity', net of outstanding loans, with rollover to an IRA or another employer plan available; otherwise distributions generally begin at the mandatory commencement date. FY2025 Form 11-K, 'Payment of Benefits'.
- No public plan-document language addresses separation from service at or after age 55. The statutory exception under IRC §72(t)(2)(A)(v) does not require a plan provision. It requires only that the plan permit a distribution, which this one does. No claim that 'the plan permits Rule of 55 distributions' is made on this page.
- Not published: EIN and three-digit plan numbers. Third-party sources conflict on them and no primary figure was obtained.
- Annual review. The cash balance crediting rate changes monthly; the RAC and NEC totals, the BrokerageLink balance and plan net assets change annually with each June's Form 11-K; the §401(a)(17) limit changes each November.