For Southern California Edison employees
Two Dates Decide Which SCE Pension You Have. Neither of Them Was Your Choice.
31 March 1999 set whether you are grandfathered into the prior formula. 31 December 2017 set whether you have a pension at all. There was never an election window for either, and the first one pays you the better of two calculations, which is not how most people think it works.
The two dates
The Two Boundaries in the SCE Retirement Plan, and Why They Get Confused
One decides your formula. The other decides whether you have a pension. They are routinely conflated, and they do different jobs.
The first is 1 April 1999, when the plan moved to cash balance features. Whether you were carried into that or kept the prior formula was tested as of 31 March 1999, and the test was not your hire date: you had to be at least age 50, or have 60 combined age-and-service points, on that day.
The second is 31 December 2017. Employees hired on or after that date are not eligible for the pension plan at all. In its place, the company makes additional non-contributory employer contributions to the Edison 401(k) Savings Plan.
A rough screen, which you should check rather than trust: to have been grandfathered you needed to be born around March 1949 or earlier, so anyone under roughly sixty today is almost certainly pure cash balance. And anyone who started on or after 31 December 2017 has no pension to plan around, only a larger 401(k) contribution.
One edge worth knowing about if you started right on the line. The qualified plan is closed to employees hired "on or after December 31, 2017", while the separate executive plan uses "on or after January 1, 2018". Both dates appear in the same proxy statement. If you were hired on 31 December 2017 exactly, only the plan document settles it.

Three things people get wrong
Three Costly Misreadings of This Plan
“"I chose the cash balance option back in 1999."”
There was no election. Grandfathering was automatic, tested on whether you were age 50 or had 60 combined age-and-service points as of 31 March 1999, and a grandfathered participant is paid the greater of the two calculations rather than one of them.
“"The pension is frozen, so there is nothing left to earn."”
Closed to new hires since 31 December 2017, but not frozen. SCE reported $90 million of pension service cost for 2025, and the 2026 proxy still describes monthly pay credits of 3% to 9% of base pay plus a flat $150 in the present tense.
“"Lump sum or annuity is just a maths question about the discount rate."”
Not if you are married. The joint and 50% survivor annuity is fully subsidised by Edison International and SCE, where most plans make the participant pay for survivor coverage through a reduced benefit. Taking the lump sum forfeits a benefit somebody else is funding.
The greater-of
If You Are Grandfathered, SCE Runs Both Calculations and Pays the Larger
This is the single most misunderstood feature of the plan, and the misunderstanding usually runs in the reader's favour once corrected.
Grandfathered participants do not have the old formula instead of the cash balance account. They have both, and at separation the plan pays whichever is worth more, the benefit under the prior formulas, reduced by any profit sharing account balance in the 401(k) plan, or the value of the cash balance account.
SCE's own annual report to the CPUC puts it as plainly as the proxy does: grandfathered employees' benefits are calculated under both the prior traditional formulas and the cash balance feature, and the greater of the two amounts is what gets paid.
So there was nothing to elect in 1999 and there is nothing to elect now. Three independent SCE and Edison International documents describe it as automatic. If you have been carrying a memory of having chosen one over the other, that memory is of something else.
What this does change is how you read your annual statement. A statement showing a cash balance account is showing you one of the two candidates, not necessarily the benefit you will be paid. Which one wins can move over time as the cash balance accrues and as the prior formula's offsets change.
The prior design was a final average pay formula with a Social Security offset. That much the 2026 proxy states directly. We are deliberately not publishing an accrual rate or an offset percentage for it. The figures that circulate come from proxies that describe the qualified plan and the executive plan together, and the most recent proxy attributes that same formula specifically to the executive plan. No public filing isolates the rank-and-file version. Your summary plan description or your annual pension statement carries yours.
| Your situation | What you have | How it was decided |
|---|---|---|
| Age 50 or 60 age-and-service points as of 31 March 1999 | The greater of the prior final-average-pay formula, offset by any 401(k) profit sharing balance, or your cash balance account | Automatic. There was no election window. |
| Hired before 31 December 2017, not grandfathered | A cash balance account: monthly pay credits of 3% to 9% of base pay by points, plus $150 a month, plus monthly interest | The 1 April 1999 transition to cash balance features |
| Hired on or after 31 December 2017 | No pension. Additional non-contributory employer contributions to the Edison 401(k) Savings Plan instead | The plan closed to new entrants on that date |

Three Pieces, and a Date That Decides One of Them
A pension whose formula was settled by where you stood on a date in 1999, a savings plan that may now be carrying contributions the pension used to make, and a separation decision with a survivor benefit hidden inside it. The pieces are documented separately and decided together, and the order they get looked at in changes the answer.
Cash balance
How the SCE Cash Balance Account Actually Grows
Two credits go in every month, and the interest mechanism is more knowable than the rate.
Each month you have an hour of service, the plan credits a pay credit of between 3% and 9% of base pay, varying by your age-plus-service points, plus a flat $150. The flat credit is the same for everyone eligible that month, which makes it proportionally far more valuable at lower pay. It was $100 a month at the time of the 2008 proxy and had reached $150 by 2016.
The exact pay credit bands inside that 3% to 9% range are not published anywhere. The range is disclosed; the schedule is not. Anyone showing you a complete tier table for this is not working from a filing.
Interest is credited monthly, and the mechanism is public even though the rate is not: it is based on the third segment rate of an IRS-specified corporate bond yield curve, taken from the August preceding the plan year. That wording has been identical in every proxy from 2008 to 2026. Before February 2008 the basis was the 30-year Treasury rate for the preceding August.
Be careful with one number. The 10-K reports 6.06% for 2025, and it is tempting to read that as your crediting rate. It is not. It is a long-term actuarial assumption. The August 2024 third segment rate, which is what the described mechanism would use for the 2025 plan year, was 5.40%. The two do not match, which tells you they are different things. Your declared rate lives in the plan documents or your annual statement.
Vesting is three years of service, or reaching age 65, or death in service. That has been the rule since 1 February 2008; before then it was graded at 20% a year with full vesting at five.
The lump sum
The SCE Survivor Annuity Is Fully Subsidised. Taking the Lump Sum Gives That Up.
This is the most under-appreciated item in the whole plan, and it is decisive for a married participant.
At separation you may elect a lump sum, a life annuity, a joint and survivor annuity if married, or a contingent annuity. For a married participant the automatic form is a joint and 50% survivor annuity unless you elect otherwise with spousal consent, which federal law requires.
Here is the part that matters: the cost of that spousal survivor benefit is fully subsidised by Edison International and SCE. In most pension plans, electing a joint and survivor annuity reduces the participant's monthly payment to pay for the survivor coverage. You buy it out of your own benefit. At SCE you do not.
That materially raises the implicit value of the annuity against the lump sum for anyone married, and it is almost never in the comparison people run. A lump-sum-versus-annuity spreadsheet that treats the two as economically equivalent before survivor coverage is comparing the wrong things: you are giving up a benefit somebody else is paying for.
Timing is flexible in both directions. You can begin payments after separation from service, or defer commencement to age 72. And you do not have to separate to start planning it, the reduction factors are steep at the bottom. The proxy gives 53.6% of the age-65 benefit for someone who terminates before 55 and commences at 55, against 77% for someone who reaches 55 still employed and retires then. Between 55 and 61 the reductions ease, and from 61 to 64 the benefit is unreduced.
The gap in all of this, and it is the one that would actually change a decision: the basis on which the plan converts your benefit into a lump sum, the mortality table, the stability period, the lookback month, is not disclosed in any public filing. Those inputs determine whether separating in one month rather than another is worth thousands. Only the plan document has them.
Still accruing
Closed Is Not Frozen: the SCE Plan Is Still Building Benefits
A closed plan stops admitting people. A frozen plan stops accruing. SCE's is the first, not the second.
The plan has been closed to new hires since 31 December 2017, and that is the fact most people have heard. It is routinely repeated as "the pension is frozen", which is a different claim and not a true one.
The evidence is in the accounting. SCE reported $90 million of pension service cost for 2025 and Edison International $94 million. Service cost is the value of benefits earned by employees during the year, a genuinely frozen plan reports none. The 2026 proxy also still describes the monthly pay credits in the present tense, and the plan's most recent regulatory filing carries a not-frozen flag.
The plan is also overfunded on both reporting entities' numbers at the end of 2025, which is worth knowing mainly because it makes the anxious version of this conversation unnecessary.
The practical consequence is that staying has an ongoing value that is easy to underestimate, and leaving stops something that is still running. That is a different calculation from leaving a plan where the benefit stopped growing years ago.
The honest part
What SCE's Filings Do Not Tell You
A great deal of this plan is public. The five things most likely to change your decision are not.
The lump sum conversion basis. The mortality table, the stability period and the lookback month decide what your lump sum is actually worth and how much it moves month to month. Not in any filing.
Your declared cash balance crediting rate, year by year. The mechanism is public; the rate the plan actually declares is not, and the 10-K figure is an actuarial assumption rather than that rate.
The pay credit bands inside the disclosed 3% to 9% range, and the transition credit bands inside the legacy 3% to 6% range.
For grandfathered participants: the accrual rate and averaging definition of the prior formula as it applies to the qualified plan, isolated from the executive plan, and whether the grandfathered qualified benefit still carries a Social Security offset at all. The 2026 proxy names only the 401(k) profit sharing offset in that paragraph.
The early retirement reduction factors for ages 56 through 60. The endpoints are published; the middle is not.
One thing this page deliberately does not cover: the investment options inside the companion Edison 401(k) Savings Plan, including whether it offers a self-directed brokerage window. The pension research does not address it, and we are not going to assume a feature exists because a comparable employer has one.
All of this sits in the SCE Retirement Plan summary plan description, which you can get through Edison's benefits portal or by written request. The plan administrator has thirty days to respond under ERISA. One SPD closes every gap on this list at once.
Questions people ask before booking
Is BAS Financial affiliated with SCE or Edison International?
No. BAS Financial is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Southern California Edison Company or Edison International. Company names are used only to describe the employer benefit structures discussed. This is independent financial education, not a company benefit or a company-sponsored resource.
How do I know whether I am grandfathered?
You were grandfathered if you were at least age 50, or had 60 combined age and service points, as of 31 March 1999. It was tested on that date and applied automatically. There was no election. In practice that means you would need to have been born around March 1949 or earlier, so most current employees are pure cash balance. Your annual pension statement or summary plan description confirms it.
Did I have to choose between the old formula and cash balance?
No, and this is the most common misunderstanding about the plan. Grandfathered participants keep both. At separation the plan calculates the benefit under the prior formulas, reduced by any profit sharing account balance in the 401(k) plan, and separately values the cash balance account, and pays whichever is greater. Three independent Edison and SCE documents describe it that way.
What accrual rate applies to the old formula?
We are not going to publish one, and you should be sceptical of pages that do. The figures in circulation come from proxy statements that describe the qualified Retirement Plan and the executive plan together, and the most recent proxy attributes that formula specifically to the Executive Retirement Plan. No public filing isolates the rank-and-file version. Your summary plan description or annual pension statement has yours.
What interest rate does my cash balance account earn?
The mechanism is public: interest is credited monthly based on the third segment rate of an IRS-specified corporate bond yield curve, taken from the August preceding the plan year. The rate the plan actually declares is not public. Do not use the 6.06% figure from the 10-K. That is a long-term actuarial assumption, and it does not match the August segment rate the described mechanism would use.
Should I take the lump sum or the annuity?
It depends on more than the discount rate, and for a married participant one factor usually dominates: the joint and 50% survivor annuity is fully subsidised by the company. Most plans reduce the participant's benefit to pay for survivor coverage; this one does not. Any comparison that ignores that is understating the annuity. The other missing input is the plan's lump sum conversion basis, which is not public and which determines how much the figure moves month to month.
Is the pension frozen?
No. It closed to new hires on 31 December 2017, which is different. SCE reported $90 million of pension service cost for 2025, a frozen plan reports none, and the plan is overfunded on the most recent figures. If you are in it, it is still building.
When can I start payments, and how long can I wait?
You can begin after separation from service, or defer commencement to age 72. The reduction for starting early is significant at the bottom of the range: the proxy gives 53.6% of the age-65 benefit for someone who terminates before 55 and commences at 55, against 77% for someone who retires at 55 while still employed. Reductions ease between 55 and 61, and the benefit is unreduced from 61 to 64.
Bring your annual pension statement
Almost every open question on this page is answered by two documents you can get in a week: your annual pension statement and the plan's summary plan description. Between them they settle whether you are grandfathered, which of the two calculations is currently winning, what your declared crediting rate is, and the basis on which a lump sum would be converted. A first conversation is working through what those actually say for you.
Book a consultationA 30-minute call. No document gathering beforehand, and no obligation afterwards.
What these figures assume
Every number on this page depends on the assumptions below. Change one and the result changes.
The two boundaries and the greater-of benefit
- Verbatim, Edison International DEF 14A filed 2026-03-13, p. 67, "The Retirement Plan was a traditional final average pay plan with a Social Security offset until April 1, 1999, when for most participants a transition to cash balance features was adopted. Employees hired on or after December 31, 2017 are not eligible to participate in the plan." High confidence, primary SEC filing.
- Verbatim, same source, "Grandfathered Benefits. Eligible participants (at least age 50 or with 60 combined age and service points as of March 31, 1999) are considered 'grandfathered' and accrue benefits under prior plan formulas. Upon separation, the grandfathered participant will be eligible to receive the greater of the benefit calculated under the prior plan formulas (offset by any profit sharing account balance in the 401(k) Plan) or the value of the new cash balance account."
- Corroboration, SCE's 2016 Annual Report under CPUC General Order 77-M, §3 p.15, "'Grandfathered' employees' retirement benefits are calculated under both the prior traditional formulas and the cash balance feature, and the greater of the two amounts is the benefit paid."
- There was no employee election window. Grandfathering was automatic and structured as a greater-of benefit, confirmed in three independent SCE and Edison International documents.
- NOT PUBLISHED HERE: an accrual rate or a Social Security offset percentage for the prior formula. Figures for both appear in the 2000 and 2005 proxies, but those proxies describe the SCE Retirement Plan and the SCE Executive Retirement Plan together, and the 2026 proxy attributes that formula and offset specifically to the Executive Retirement Plan. No SEC filing isolates the rank-and-file qualified plan's grandfathered formula. Rather than restate figures that may belong to a different plan, this page states that the prior design existed and sends the reader to their own statement. The specific figures and the reasoning are recorded in this page's source comment for whoever edits it next.
- Also unresolved: whether the grandfathered qualified benefit still carries a Social Security offset at all. The 2026 proxy names only the 401(k) profit sharing offset in the grandfathered paragraph.
- Edge case on the closure date: the qualified plan is closed to employees "hired on or after December 31, 2017" while the nonqualified Executive Retirement Plan cutoff is stated as "on or after January 1, 2018". Both appear in the 2026 proxy. Only the plan document resolves an exactly-31-December-2017 hire.
- Employees hired on or after 31 December 2017 receive additional non-contributory employer contributions to the Edison 401(k) Savings Plan in lieu of pension participation. EIX/SCE FY2025 Form 10-K, Note 9.
Cash balance mechanics, payment forms, and plan status
- Pay credits, 3% to 9% of base pay, credited monthly for each month the participant has an hour of service, varying by age-plus-service points. EIX 2026 DEF 14A p. 67. The bands inside that range are NOT publicly disclosed and none are published here.
- Flat monthly credit, $150 to every participant eligible for a pay credit that month. EIX 2026 DEF 14A and SCE's 2016 CPUC GO 77-M report. It was $100 a month as of the 2008 proxy.
- Transition credits, 3% to 6% of pay by points for up to eight years from account establishment. Legacy only; the window closed around 2007. The bands inside that range are also not disclosed.
- Interest crediting mechanism, credited monthly, based on the third segment rate of an IRS-specified corporate bond yield curve for the month of August preceding the plan year. Identical wording in every proxy from 2008 to 2026. Before February 2008 the basis was the 30-year Treasury rate for the preceding August.
- The declared crediting rate is NOT public. The FY2025 10-K's 6.06% for 2025 is a long-term actuarial assumption, not the declared rate: the August 2024 IRS third segment rate was 5.40%, and the two do not match. Publishing the 10-K figure as a participant's crediting rate would be wrong, so this page publishes the mechanism and not a rate.
- Vesting, three years of service, or age 65, or death in service. Changed to a three-year cliff effective 1 February 2008; previously 20% per year with full vesting at five years.
- Form of payment, verbatim, EIX 2026 DEF 14A p. 67, "Eligible participants may elect a lump sum, life annuity, joint and survivor annuity (if married), or a contingent annuity. For married participants, payment in a joint and 50% survivor annuity is the automatic form of benefit, absent an alternative election. The cost of the spousal survivor annuity benefit is fully subsidized by EIX and SCE. For single participants, the single life annuity option is the automatic payment method. Participants can choose to start receiving benefit payments after separation from service or can effectively defer commencement of payments until age 72."
- Spousal consent is required to waive a joint and survivor annuity. Statutory under ERISA §205 and IRC §417(a)(2) rather than a plan-specific term.
- Early retirement reductions, 53.6% of the normal age-65 benefit for a participant who terminates before 55 and commences at 55 with five or more years of service; 77% for a participant who retires at 55 with five or more years of service; lesser reductions between 55 and 61; unreduced from 61 to 64. EIX 2026 DEF 14A. The factors for ages 56 through 60 are not published.
- Lump sum conversion basis, mortality table, stability period and lookback month are NOT disclosed in any public filing. This is the most actionable unknown for anyone timing a separation, and it lives only in the plan document.
- Plan status, closed to new hires since 31 December 2017 but not frozen. FY2025 pension service cost was $90 million for SCE and $94 million for Edison International; a hard-frozen plan reports no service cost. The 2026 proxy describes pay credits in the present tense, and the most recent Form 5500 record carries a not-frozen flag. Both entities' plans were overfunded at the end of 2025.
- NOT PUBLISHED: total plan assets. A secondary aggregator reports a 2023 figure that does not reconcile to the 10-K by roughly $1.1 billion, and the discrepancy is unexplained.
- NOT COVERED: the investment options in the companion Edison 401(k) Savings Plan, including whether a self-directed brokerage window exists. The pension research does not address it. A Schwab Personal Choice Retirement Account is confirmed at other employers covered on this site; that is not evidence about this plan.
- Annual review. The crediting-rate mechanism is fixed by the August IRS third segment rate of the preceding year, so the 2027 plan-year input is determinable from August 2026. IRS segment rates change monthly and should never be quoted without their month. Actuarial assumptions update each February with the 10-K.