For Service Corporation International employees

Your SCI Match Rate Goes Up With Service. Most People Never Find Out Which Tier They Are In.

The SCI 401(k) Retirement Savings Plan matches 75%, 100% or 125% of your first 6% of pay, depending on how long you have been there. Auto-enrolment starts you at 4%. That gap is worth real money, and it is the least of what most people leave unopened in this plan.

The match

How the SCI Match Actually Works

Three tiers, set by completed years of service, applied to the first 6% of your pretax pay.

SCI's 401(k) is not a flat match. The company matches a percentage of what you contribute up to 6% of your pretax annual compensation, and that percentage steps up with your service: 75% in your first five years, 100% from six to ten, and 125% at eleven years and beyond.

Read that last tier again. At 125%, SCI is putting in more than you are. Contribute 6% of your pay and the company adds 7.5% of your pay on top. There are not many places in a working life where that trade is on offer.

This is the quiet reason long-career people in this profession end up with balances that surprise them. Two associates contributing the identical dollar amount can be getting materially different deals depending on where they sit in the schedule, and it is also why contributing below the 6% cap costs a twenty-year veteran considerably more than it costs someone in their second year.

These figures are not estimates or industry averages. They are read from SCI's own Form 11-K for the plan year ended 31 December 2025, filed with the SEC in June 2026, and the same structure appears in the filings going back to 2017.

A quiet cemetery with headstones and mature trees
Careers in this profession tend to be long ones. That's exactly why the planning deserves attention.

The three tiers

What SCI Adds, by Years of Service

  1. Your first five years, 75% of your first 6%
    4.5% of pay
  2. Six to ten years, 100% of your first 6%
    6.0% of pay
  3. Eleven years and beyond, 125% of your first 6%
    7.5% of payThe only tier where SCI puts in more than you do

What this assumes

Three things people get wrong

Three Costly Misreadings of This Plan

  1. “"The match is the same for everyone, so there is nothing to work out."”

    It is 75%, 100% or 125% of your first 6% depending on completed years of service. At a 6% deferral that is 4.5%, 6.0% or 7.5% of your pay. Two people contributing identical dollars can be getting a two-thirds better deal than each other.

  2. “"Auto-enrolment put me at the right contribution rate."”

    Auto-enrolment sets 4%. The match runs to 6%. At eleven or more years of service that gap costs you 2.5% of your pay every year, and the 2% of your own money that would close it is matched at 125%.

  3. “"The company's contributions are mine as soon as they land in the account."”

    Nothing the company contributes vests until you complete three years of service, and then all of it vests at once. In 2025 the plan applied $2,830,796 of forfeited company money against future contributions.

The gap

Auto-Enrolment Starts You at 4%. The SCI Match Runs to 6%.

If you have never changed your contribution rate from the default, you are almost certainly leaving match on the table.

The plan enrols new participants automatically at 4% of pretax pay. The match formula runs to 6%. Those two numbers were not set to agree with each other, and nothing in the plan moves you from one to the other. You have to do it.

The cost depends on your tier. At eleven or more years of service, deferring 4% instead of 6% means SCI contributes 5.0% of your pay rather than 7.5%. You are leaving 2.5% of your pay unclaimed every year, and the two percentage points of your own money that would capture it come back at 125 cents on the dollar.

At six to ten years the gap is 2.0 points of pay. In your first five years it is 1.5. Smaller, but it is the same shape of problem, and the years it happens in are the ones with the longest runway to compound.

One caveat worth stating rather than glossing: whether the match is calculated on your contributions across the whole year or funded pay period by pay period is not disclosed in any public filing. If it is per period, then when you contribute matters as well as how much. Your summary plan description answers it. It is the single most useful thing you could look up before changing your deferral rate.

What SCI adds at the 4% default versus the full 6%, by service tier
Your serviceAt the 4% defaultAt the full 6%Left unclaimed
0 to 5 years (75%)3.0% of pay4.5% of pay1.5 points
6 to 10 years (100%)4.0% of pay6.0% of pay2.0 points
11+ years (125%)5.0% of pay7.5% of pay2.5 points

What this assumes

A white lily in soft natural light

You Spent a Career Taking Care of Other People's Families

Most people in this work never sit down with anyone about their own plan. If you have been at SCI long enough to reach the top of the match schedule, you have likely built a larger balance than your salary alone would suggest, and the decisions about what to do with it work best in a particular order, with enough runway left to act on what you find.

The brokerage window

The Schwab PCRA Window Inside the SCI Plan

A self-directed account sits inside the plan. Around 3.5% of plan money is in it. Almost nobody opens one.

The SCI plan allows a self-directed brokerage account, a Schwab Personal Choice Retirement Account, or PCRA, which lets you invest beyond the standard fund menu while the money stays inside the 401(k). Charles Schwab Trust Bank is the custodian, and Schwab Retirement Plan Services is the plan's recordkeeper.

It is not a new or experimental feature. It has been disclosed in SCI's filings continuously since at least 2017. At the end of 2025 there was $66.4 million sitting in self-directed accounts across the plan, up from $53.6 million a year earlier, a 23.7% increase in twelve months, against total plan investments of $1.92 billion. So roughly 3.5% of the plan's money is in it, which tells you both that it is real and that it is barely used.

That is the honest framing. It is not right for everyone and the standard fund menu is genuinely fine for a great many people. Opening a brokerage window because it exists is not a strategy. But it is worth knowing the option is there before you decide it is not for you, and most people in this plan have never been told it exists at all.

Two things the public filings do not tell us: whether the PCRA window restricts what you can hold inside it, and what it costs at the participant level. Both are in your summary plan description and your annual fee disclosure.

The company money

Nothing SCI Contributes Is Yours Until Year Three

A three-year cliff, and then all of it at once.

Your own contributions and any rollovers you have brought in are always fully yours. The company's money works differently: nothing vests until you complete three years of service, at which point 100% of it vests at once. There is no graded schedule easing you into it.

That is a cliff in the literal sense, and it matters most to anyone weighing a move within their first three years. Leaving at two years and eleven months forfeits every dollar the company has contributed and everything it has earned.

This is not hypothetical at the plan level. Forfeitures are used to offset future company contributions, and in 2025 alone $2.83 million of forfeited money was applied that way, with a further $3.19 million sitting available at year end. That is real money that belonged to people who left before their third anniversary.

Company stock

If You Hold SCI Stock in the Plan, There Is a Tax Election Worth Knowing About

The stock fund became an ESOP in September 2024. That opens a treatment most people have never heard of.

SCI common stock held inside the plan was worth about $168 million at the end of 2025, roughly 9% of plan assets. If you have been contributing for a long time, some of that is likely yours.

Effective 1 September 2024 the plan was amended to designate the SCI common stock fund as an employee stock ownership plan under §4975(e)(7). One practical consequence is that net unrealised appreciation becomes a live option at distribution: instead of rolling employer stock into an IRA and taxing everything as ordinary income later, you may be able to take the shares in kind, pay ordinary income tax only on their original cost basis, and have the appreciation taxed at long-term capital gains rates when you eventually sell.

Whether that is worth doing depends on the spread between your basis and the current value, your tax bracket now versus later, and how concentrated you already are in one employer. It is genuinely valuable in the right circumstances and actively harmful in the wrong ones, and it is irreversible once done. What it should not be is a decision you discover after the paperwork is filed.

Leaving

Separation Is the Decision, Not Retirement

The day that matters is the day you leave, whenever that is. Four options open at once.

The moment that matters most usually is not your last birthday at work. It is the day you separate. That is when the balance becomes portable and every option opens simultaneously: leave it in the plan if it is above the plan's threshold, roll it to an IRA, roll it into a new employer's plan, or take it in cash.

Each carries different tax and cost consequences, and cashing out is almost always the most expensive of the four. Getting the sequence right matters more than most people expect, and it is easy to default into whichever option requires the least paperwork on a week when you have other things on your mind.

If you are holding SCI stock, the net unrealised appreciation election above has to be considered before the money moves, not after. The same is true of the PCRA balance if you have one. Rollover mistakes in both areas are expensive and hard to undo.

In-service withdrawals are available from age 59½, and hardship withdrawals before that. The details of the in-service rollover-out provision are not in the public filings, so check your plan documents.

Eligibility

Who the SCI Plan Covers, and Who It Does Not

Worth checking before you read any of the above as applying to you.

Eligibility begins after two months of service, from age 18, with automatic enrolment at 4% of pretax pay. You can defer up to 50% of pretax pay, and Roth contributions have been available since July 2014.

One boundary matters: the plan covers US non-union employees. Collectively bargained employees who have retirement benefits under their agreement are excluded from it. If you are covered by a bargaining agreement, your retirement benefit is a different arrangement and nothing on this page describes it.

If you work for a Dignity Memorial location, you are almost certainly inside this plan, Dignity Memorial is SCI's consumer-facing brand, and the funeral homes and cemeteries operating under it are SCI locations. The plan name on your statement will read SCI 401(k) Retirement Savings Plan.

Questions people ask before booking

Is BAS Financial affiliated with SCI?

No. BAS Financial is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Service Corporation International. Company names are used only to describe the employer benefit structures discussed. This is independent financial education, not a company benefit or a company-sponsored resource.

I work at a Dignity Memorial location. Does this page apply to me?

Almost certainly yes. Dignity Memorial is SCI's consumer-facing brand, and the funeral homes and cemeteries operating under that name are SCI locations. The plan on your statement should read SCI 401(k) Retirement Savings Plan. The one group this page does not describe is collectively bargained employees who receive retirement benefits under their agreement, who are excluded from this plan.

How do I find out which match tier I am in?

It tracks your completed years of vesting service with the company: 75% in years zero to five, 100% in years six to ten, and 125% from eleven years onward. Your plan statement and your benefits resources will confirm your own service credit. Plan terms can be amended, so confirm against your current plan materials rather than against any page including this one.

Where do these figures come from?

SCI's own Form 11-K for the plan year ended 31 December 2025, filed with the SEC on 25 June 2026. That is a public annual report on the plan itself, which is why this page can be specific about the match tiers, the brokerage window and the vesting schedule. Every figure and its source is listed at the foot of this page.

Does the match get trued up at year end if I contribute unevenly?

Not disclosed in any public filing, and we are not going to guess. If the match is funded pay period by pay period, then front-loading or pausing contributions can cost you match that a year-end true-up would have restored. Your summary plan description answers it, and it is the single most useful thing to check before changing your deferral rate.

What is the Schwab PCRA, and should I use it?

It is a Personal Choice Retirement Account, a self-directed brokerage window inside the plan that lets you invest beyond the standard fund menu while the money stays in the 401(k). Whether it is worth using depends on how you want to invest and whether the added flexibility solves a problem you actually have. For some people it is a meaningful upgrade; for others the standard menu is genuinely fine. It is a decision worth making on purpose rather than by default.

What happens to my 401(k) when I leave SCI?

You can generally leave the balance in the plan if it is above the plan's threshold, roll it to an IRA, roll it into a new employer's plan, or take it in cash. Each has different tax and cost consequences and cashing out is usually the most expensive. If you hold SCI stock in the plan, the net unrealised appreciation election has to be considered before the money moves, because it cannot be undone afterwards.

My plan's recordkeeper already handles this. Why would I need anyone else?

A recordkeeper administers the plan, keeps the records accurate, and processes what you tell it to do. That is a different job from helping you decide what to do. Neither role replaces the other, and knowing which one you are getting is worth being clear about.

Find out which tier you are in, and what it is worth

Most of what is on this page can be checked against your own statement in a few minutes: your completed service, your current deferral rate, whether you have ever opened the PCRA window, and how much SCI stock you are holding inside the plan. Bring those and we can work out what your match is actually worth, what closing the auto-enrolment gap would cost and return, and what your options look like when you eventually leave.

Book a consultation

A 30-minute call. No document gathering beforehand, and no obligation afterwards.

What these figures assume

Every number on this page depends on the assumptions below. Change one and the result changes.

The match tiers and what they are worth

  • Match formula, the company matches up to 6% of a participant's pretax annual compensation, at a percentage set by completed years of vesting service: 75% for 0–5 years, 100% for 6–10 years, 125% for 11 or more. Verbatim from SCI Form 11-K, plan year ended 2025-12-31, Note 1 'Contributions', filed 2026-06-25. High confidence, primary SEC filing.
  • Deferrals above 6% of pretax pay are not matched.
  • Effective employer contribution at a full 6% deferral, 4.5% of pay at 75%, 6.0% at 100%, 7.5% at 125%. Arithmetic on the filed percentages, not an estimate.
  • Effective employer contribution at the 4% auto-enrolment default, 3.0%, 4.0% and 5.0% of pay respectively. The shortfall against a 6% deferral is therefore 1.5, 2.0 and 2.5 points of pay by tier.
  • Automatic enrolment at 4% of pretax pay; eligibility after two months of service from age 18; deferrals permitted up to 50% of pretax pay; Roth contributions available since 2014-07-01. Form 11-K FY2025.
  • The 75/100/125-on-6% structure is unchanged across the FY2017, FY2019, FY2021, FY2024 and FY2025 filings.
  • Wording note: through FY2024 the tier table read 'Less than 6 years / Greater than 6 years and less than 11 years / 11 or more years', which literally left an employee at exactly six completed years uncovered. FY2025 restates it as 0–5 / 6–10 / 11+, and that is the phrasing used here.
  • The band's top rung is an open interval, 'eleven or more years' has no upper boundary. It is drawn at a span of 14 years, reaching year 25, so that it can be shown at all. That width is a drawing decision, not a plan fact, and no figure on this page depends on it. The first two spans, 6 and 5 years, are the real widths of those bands.
  • Not stated because it is not public: whether the match is trued up annually or funded per pay period, and how 'compensation' is defined for match purposes (whether bonus, commission and overtime are included). Both are in the plan document and summary plan description, neither of which is filed.
  • No plan-specific compensation cap is stated in the 11-K. The statutory §401(a)(17) limit applies, $360,000 for 2026, per IRS Notice 2025-67. Treat any 'SCI caps matched compensation at $360,000' claim as an inference from statute rather than a plan fact.
  • There were no discretionary company contributions for the year ended 2025-12-31, though the plan permits them.

Vesting, the brokerage window, and company stock

  • Vesting, 'Participants are not vested in Company contributions and related earnings until they complete three years of service with the Company, thus becoming 100% vested.' Form 11-K FY2025. A three-year cliff, not a graded schedule. Employee deferrals and rollovers are always 100% vested.
  • Forfeitures, $2,830,796 applied against employer contributions during 2025, with $3,193,608 available at year end. Form 11-K FY2025.
  • Self-directed brokerage account, confirmed present, and the custodian is Charles Schwab Trust Bank. Form 11-K FY2025, Note 2: 'A self-directed investment account is allowed for each participant who directs an investment outside of the investment options designated by the Plan Administrator… Charles Schwab Trust Bank is asset custodian for the self-directed investment accounts.' The Schedule H line item names it 'Personal Choice Retirement Self-Directed Account'.
  • Self-directed account balances, $66,354,448 at 2025-12-31, against $53,633,682 at 2024-12-31, a 23.7% increase. Total plan investments $1,918,825,012 at 2025-12-31, so self-directed accounts are approximately 3.5% of plan investments. Disclosed continuously in SCI 11-K filings since at least FY2017.
  • Recordkeeper is Schwab Retirement Plan Services, Inc.; the trustee and custodian is Charles Schwab Trust Bank. Form 11-K FY2025, Note 1.
  • SCI common stock held in the plan, $168,031,558 at 2025-12-31, stated in the filing as approximately 9% of plan assets at that date and 11% a year earlier.
  • ESOP designation, 'Effective September 1, 2024, the Plan was amended to designate the SCI common stock fund as an employee stock ownership plan as defined in Section 4975(e)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code.' Form 11-K FY2025, Note 4. This is what makes net unrealised appreciation treatment and §404(k) dividend treatment relevant topics for long-tenured participants.
  • Net unrealised appreciation is a distribution election with statutory conditions, not an automatic benefit. It is irreversible once taken and is not advantageous in every case. Nothing on this page recommends it.
  • Plan identity, SCI 401(k) Retirement Savings Plan, sponsored by Service Corporation International, EIN 74-1488375, plan number 002, established 2000-07-01. Net assets available for benefits $1,951,950,138 at 2025-12-31.
  • Coverage, US non-union employees. Collectively bargained employees with retirement benefits under their agreement are excluded from this plan.
  • In-service withdrawals are available from age 59½, and hardship withdrawals before that. The detail of the in-service rollover-out provision is not in the public filings.
  • Not published here, deliberately: the plan's recordkeeping fee figure and any percentage derived from it. Participant-level PCRA fees and any investment restrictions inside the PCRA window are likewise not in the public filings. Both are in the summary plan description and the annual §404a-5 fee disclosure.
  • Participant counts are a gap. They are reported on Form 5500 Part II rather than the 11-K, and the DOL EFAST2 service was unreachable during the research run.
Schedule a Complimentary Consultation