For Qualcomm employees in San Diego
The Qualcomm Match Is Not a Percentage of Your Pay. It Is Four Tiers, and the Last One Pays Ten Cents.
Most 401(k) matches are written as a percentage of each paycheck. This one is written in dollars of contribution, and the rate collapses as you go. Here is the structure, what it costs at the full deferral, and the questions the public record cannot answer.
The structure
How the Qualcomm Match Is Actually Built
It is denominated in dollars you contribute, not in a percentage of what you earn. That single difference drives everything else on this page.
Almost every 401(k) match you will read about is written the same way: the company puts in fifty cents for every dollar you defer, up to six percent of your pay. Your salary sets the ceiling, and the rate is flat all the way to it.
This plan is not built that way. The match is a tiered structure denominated in cumulative dollars of employee contribution: 100% of the first $1,500, 50% of the next $1,500, 33% of the next $7,500, and 10% of everything after that. There is no "X% of the first Y% of compensation" anywhere in it. Your salary does not set the tiers. The tiers are the same dollar figures for a new engineer and a vice president.
That formula is not published in a single tidy document. It was established by reconciling the tier arithmetic against the maximum match dollars Qualcomm discloses in its own proxy statements, and it reconciles for all four years on record, 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025. The 2025 figure of $7,150 reconciles only if you use the age 60–63 catch-up, which matches the same proxy's changed wording about catch-up contributions "for employees at certain ages". Four independent years agreeing is why this is stated plainly rather than hedged.

The four tiers
What Each Dollar You Defer Is Matched At
- 100%
- 50%
- 33%
- 10%If you defer the 2026 maximum
Three things people get wrong
Three Costly Misreadings of This Plan
“"The match is a percentage of my salary, so earning more means matching more."”
It is denominated in dollars of contribution, not compensation. The tiers are $1,500, $1,500 and $7,500 regardless of what you earn, and the maximum match is the same for a $150,000 salary and a $400,000 one. Reconciled against four years of proxy-disclosed maximums, 2022 through 2025.
“"If I max out my 401(k), I am capturing the full match."”
You are capturing $6,125 on a $24,500 deferral, which is 25% blended. The first $3,000 you defer earns $2,250 of it. The last $14,000 earns $1,400.
“"I have $47,500 of after-tax room once I hit the deferral limit."”
Only with no employer contribution. The match counts toward the same $72,000 annual additions ceiling, so at a full deferral the real figure is $41,375, and whether this plan permits after-tax contributions at all is unconfirmed.
What it costs
Why Maxing Out Your Qualcomm 401(k) Earns a Quarter on the Dollar
The tiers do not create a cliff. They create a marginal rate that collapses, and the collapse happens early.
Cross every tier and the company has put in $4,725, on the first $10,500 you deferred. Everything above that is matched at ten percent. In 2026 the elective deferral limit is $24,500, so if you max out, the last $14,000 of your own money earns $1,400 of company money.
Put the whole year together and the match on a full $24,500 deferral is $6,125, a blended rate of twenty-five percent. The headline is 100% matching. The reality, for anyone who maxes out, is a quarter on the dollar, and most of that quarter was earned in the first $3,000.
This is worth being precise about, because it is easy to over-read. It is not an argument against deferring the maximum. Tax-deferred growth on $24,500 is worth having on its own terms, and the ten percent is still ten percent. What it is an argument against is treating the match as the reason you are contributing the last $14,000. That money is doing something, but it is not capturing a match, and if the choice is between the last tranche of deferral and another use of the same dollars, the match is not the thumb on the scale people assume it is.
| If you defer | The company adds | Effective match rate |
|---|---|---|
| $3,000 | $2,250 | 75% |
| $10,500 | $4,725 | 45% |
| $24,500 (the 2026 maximum) | $6,125 | 25% |

These Are Plans We See Regularly
Qualcomm equity compensation, vesting calendars and benefit structures are ones we work with often rather than ones we looked up for this page, which is the difference between a guide and a summary. A first conversation is a review of your actual numbers, not a version of this page read aloud.
The other side of the triangle
Your Paycheck, Your Match, and Your RSUs Are All the Same Bet
The 401(k) is one corner. Concentration is where the larger money usually sits.
When RSUs vest, the value on the vesting date is taxed as ordinary income, not as a capital gain. The most common reason people hold after vesting is to reach long-term capital gains treatment, which is real, but it applies only to the growth from the vest date onward. The vest itself was already a taxable event at ordinary rates.
Which reframes the decision. If the company handed you a $50,000 cash bonus, would your first move be to buy $50,000 of company stock with it? For most people the answer is no. Holding a vested RSU position is making exactly that trade, every quarter, by default rather than by decision.
The concentration argument is sharper here than at most employers because your salary, your match, your unvested equity and your next promotion are already claims on the same company. A vested position on top of that is not diversification, it is the fourth helping. That is a risk decision, and it deserves to be argued as one rather than settled by a tax rule of thumb.
We have written about the vesting decision itself in more detail, and about what a long-term gain actually costs a San Diego household once the federal surtax and California are counted, the arithmetic there is usually the part that surprises people.
If an offer arrives
If a Qualcomm Buyout or Voluntary Separation Package Arrives
A severance package is a tool, not a retirement plan. Three variables usually decide whether it is a bridge or a wall.
The first is health coverage. Leaving before 65 means covering the gap yourself, and COBRA costs 102% of the total premium, including the share the company had been paying, which most people have never seen as a number. For a family plan in San Diego that is a substantial monthly line item for however many years sit between your last day and Medicare.
The second is what happens to unvested equity. Whether the package accelerates vesting, vests pro rata, or forfeits the unvested balance outright is frequently the difference between a good offer and a poor one, and it is usually decided in the plan documents rather than negotiated.
The third is the tax year the money lands in. A large lump sum arriving in a year where you have already earned a full salary and bonus stacks on top of that income rather than starting fresh. Whether any of it can be deferred, offset, or shifted is worth asking before signing, not after.
Accessing a 401(k) before 59½ without the 10% penalty is possible through substantially equal periodic payments under IRC §72(t), but it is a rigid, multi-year commitment and breaking the schedule triggers retroactive penalties. It is a real option and a poor one to improvise.
The honest part
What the Public Record Does Not Say About the Qualcomm Plan
Some of the most-asked questions have no public answer. Rather than guess, here is exactly where the record stops.
Qualcomm has never filed a Form 11-K. Form 11-K is required only where plan interests or employer stock are registered on Form S-8, and every Qualcomm S-8 back to 2008 registers equity-incentive or acquisition plans rather than the 401(k). The plan holds no company stock fund requiring registration, so no filing obligation attaches. The practical consequence is that there is no public plan description to quote.
So: whether the match includes a true-up is not disclosed anywhere. A search of the 2026 proxy for "true-up" returns nothing, and there is no 11-K to check. We are not inferring it either way.
Nor is it public whether the tiers are applied per pay period or on cumulative year-to-date contributions. That distinction is the whole of the front-loading question: because these tiers are denominated in dollars rather than as a percentage of each paycheck, an employee who reaches the limit by June has still crossed every tier and, on a cumulative calculation, would receive the identical full-year match. A front-loading penalty would exist only if the bands are prorated per period, which is unusual for a dollar-tiered design and is unverified. If you have been told you lost match by front-loading, that is worth checking against your own statements rather than against an article.
Vesting is reported as graded, 50% after one year of service, 100% after two. That comes from two independent secondary sources that agree, with no primary document behind them, so treat it as probably right rather than settled.
One thing the record does say clearly: the plan offers a self-directed brokerage account. That is stated in Qualcomm's own 2025 proxy, in the board's response to a shareholder proposal, and it is the best-sourced plan detail available.
All of this resolves in about thirty seconds from inside a Fidelity NetBenefits account, or from the summary plan description. If you have either, bring them and we can stop guessing.
After-tax savings
The $47,500 Figure, and Why It Is Probably Not Your Number
Two corrections to a number that circulates widely, including in our own earlier writing.
The arithmetic behind $47,500 is the 2026 annual additions limit of $72,000 less the $24,500 elective deferral limit. That is correct as far as it goes, but it assumes the employer contributes nothing. Employer contributions count toward the same $72,000 ceiling, so for anyone actually receiving the match at a full deferral the figure is $72,000 − $24,500 − $6,125, which is $41,375. Roughly six thousand dollars less than the number usually quoted.
The second correction runs the other way, and it is the one people more often get wrong to their own cost: catch-up contributions do not count as annual additions and do not consume that headroom. They stack on top. Someone 50 or older does not lose after-tax room by making catch-ups, the 2026 ceiling becomes $80,000, or $83,250 for ages 60 to 63.
Both figures assume something we cannot confirm: that this plan permits after-tax non-Roth contributions at all. We could not verify that it does. The 2026 proxy describes the match as applying to "Pretax and Roth" contributions, and the available employer benefit descriptions list Roth deferrals rather than an after-tax bucket. Neither confirms nor denies it. Until it is confirmed from the plan documents or a NetBenefits contribution-elections screen, treat the mega backdoor Roth as an open question here rather than a strategy on the shelf.
One further constraint that arithmetic alone will not show: after-tax contributions are subject to ACP nondiscrimination testing. In a plan with heavy highly-compensated participation and no safe harbour on the after-tax source, contributions can be refunded after year end. That is the most common real-world failure of an otherwise sound mega backdoor plan.
Questions people ask before booking
Is BAS Financial affiliated with Qualcomm?
No. BAS Financial is an independent entity and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Qualcomm Incorporated. Many of our clients work there, but this is independent financial education, not a company benefit.
Where do these match figures come from, if the plan document is not public?
From Qualcomm's own SEC filings. The proxy statements disclose the maximum dollar match for a participant contributing the IRS maximum, and the four-tier structure reconciles against that disclosed figure for 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025. The tiers are separately corroborated by the employer-supplied benefit description. Every figure and its source is listed at the foot of this page.
Did I lose match by front-loading my contributions?
Possibly not, and it is worth checking rather than assuming. A front-loading penalty arises from percentage-of-paycheck formulas, which is not the structure here. Because these tiers are denominated in dollars of contribution, reaching the limit early still crosses every tier, provided the plan applies the bands to cumulative contributions rather than prorating them per pay period. Which of those it does is not publicly disclosed, so the honest answer is that your own statements will settle it faster than any article can.
Can I do a mega backdoor Roth in this plan?
Unconfirmed. It requires the plan to permit after-tax non-Roth contributions, and we could not verify from public sources that it does. Your Fidelity NetBenefits contribution-elections page would show an after-tax election line if one exists, which answers it in about thirty seconds. We would rather tell you it is unverified than describe a strategy your plan may not offer.
Do catch-up contributions have to be Roth now?
For 2026, if your 2025 Social Security wages from this employer exceeded $150,000, expect catch-up contributions to be Roth-only. The test looks at the prior year's wages from the same employer. The final regulations formally apply to years after 2026, with a good-faith standard for 2026 itself, but the statutory provision is already in effect and the earlier transition relief ended on 31 December 2025. For most people in this income range, Roth treatment of catch-ups is a benefit rather than a cost.
When do the company matching contributions vest?
Reported as graded, 50% after one year of service and 100% after two. That comes from two independent secondary sources which agree, with no primary plan document publicly available to confirm it, so treat it as probably right rather than settled. Your summary plan description is definitive.
A guide to the equity, the ESPP and the 401(k), by email
A plain-English guide to where the decisions sit when your pay is mostly equity: what a vest costs at tax time, how concentrated a single position has quietly become, which ESPP holding period you are counting from, and how much of the match the last dollar you defer actually earns.
Request the complimentary Qualcomm RSU, ESPP and 401(k) guide and it arrives by email.
Check your email. Your Qualcomm RSU, ESPP and 401(k) guide is on its way.
That did not send. Please try again, or emailBStevens@BAS-Financial.comand we will send the Qualcomm RSU, ESPP and 401(k) guide over.
Bring your NetBenefits screen and your vesting schedule
Several of the questions on this page cannot be answered from public filings, but they can be answered in minutes from your own plan documents. A first conversation is a look at your actual contribution elections, vesting schedule and equity position, what the match is really worth at your deferral level, whether after-tax contributions are available to you, and how much of your net worth is currently riding on one ticker.
Book a consultationA 30-minute call. No document gathering beforehand, and no obligation afterwards.
What these figures assume
Every number on this page depends on the assumptions below. Change one and the result changes.
The match tiers and what they are worth
- Match formula, 100% of the first $1,500 of employee contributions, 50% of the next $1,500, 33% of the next $7,500, 10% of everything thereafter up to the IRS limit. Denominated in cumulative dollars of employee contribution, not as a percentage of compensation. Established by reconciling tier arithmetic against proxy-disclosed maximum match dollars; corroborated verbatim by the employer-supplied benefit description. High confidence.
- Reconciliation, four for four. Fixed portion across the first three tiers = (1,500 × 100%) + (1,500 × 50%) + (7,500 × 33%) = $4,725 on the first $10,500 deferred, then 10% above $10,500. 2022: $6,375. 2023: $6,675. 2024: $6,725. 2025: $7,150. Each matches the figure disclosed in the corresponding DEF 14A.
- Primary source, Qualcomm DEF 14A filed 2026-01-22, Figure 11, "We match employee Pretax and Roth contributions in cash using a tiered structure… If an employee contributes the maximum annual amount permitted under IRS rules, including the maximum catch-up contribution for employees at certain ages, the Company's match would be $7,150 for 2025."
- 2026 elective deferral limit, $24,500. IRC §402(g)(1), IRS Notice 2025-67.
- 2026 maximum match, participant under 50, $6,125. Derived: $4,725 + (($24,500 − $10,500) × 10%). The official 2026 figure will not be published until the proxy filed around January 2027, so this is derived rather than disclosed. Medium-high confidence.
- Match at a $3,000 deferral, $2,250, being $1,500 + $750. Effective rate 75%.
- Match at a $10,500 deferral, $4,725, being $1,500 + $750 + $2,475. Effective rate 45%.
- Match at a $24,500 deferral, $6,125. Effective rate 25.0%. The portion earned above $10,500 is $1,400 on $14,000 of deferral.
- The band's four spans are the tier widths themselves: $1,500, $1,500, $7,500, and $14,000 (from $10,500 to the $24,500 deferral limit). The top span is bounded by the 2026 deferral limit rather than drawn to an arbitrary figure, so unlike an open-ended tax bracket it needs no assumed ceiling.
- Not stated because it is not public: whether the match carries a true-up; whether the tiers are applied per pay period or on cumulative year-to-date contributions; whether a last-day-of-plan-year employment condition attaches to the qualified plan match. A last-day condition is confirmed in the separate non-qualified deferred compensation plan (Ex. 10.18 to the FY2025 Form 10-K, §4.5), which is a different plan and a different population.
2026 IRS limits and after-tax headroom
- Annual additions limit, $72,000 for 2026. IRC §415(c)(1)(A), IRS Notice 2025-67: "The limitation for defined contribution plans under section 415(c)(1)(A) is increased in 2026 from $70,000 to $72,000."
- Elective deferral limit, $24,500 for 2026. IRC §402(g)(1), IRS Notice 2025-67.
- Age-50 catch-up, $8,000 for 2026. Enhanced catch-up for ages 60–63, $11,250, unchanged from 2025. IRC §414(v), IRS Notice 2025-67.
- Catch-up contributions are not annual additions and do not consume §415(c) headroom; they stack on top. Per IRS: the annual additions limit is "$72,000 in 2026 ($80,000 including catch-up contributions or up to $83,250 for those age 60 to 63)".
- After-tax headroom with no employer contribution, $47,500, being $72,000 − $24,500. This is the figure that circulates, and it is correct only under that assumption.
- After-tax headroom at a full deferral with the match, $41,375, being $72,000 − $24,500 − $6,125.
- Roth catch-up wage threshold, $150,000 of 2025 Social Security wages from the same employer, determining whether 2026 catch-ups must be Roth. IRC §414(v)(7)(A), IRS Notice 2025-67. The transition relief in Notice 2023-62 ended 2025-12-31; the final regulations (TD 10033) generally apply to years after 2026, with a reasonable good-faith standard for 2026.
- Whether this plan permits after-tax non-Roth contributions, UNVERIFIED, and therefore the mega backdoor Roth is not asserted to be available. The single secondary source suggesting it carries a demonstrable error on an adjacent figure. The 2026 proxy narrows the match to "Pretax and Roth" contributions and the employer benefit description lists Roth deferrals only. Neither confirms nor denies an after-tax bucket. Resolves from the summary plan description or a Fidelity NetBenefits contribution-elections screen.
- After-tax contributions are subject to ACP nondiscrimination testing and can be refunded after year end in a plan with heavy highly-compensated participation and no safe harbour on the after-tax source.
- Annual review. Every IRS figure on this page is indexed and changes each November. The match maximum must be recomputed each January against the new deferral limit, and the official prior-year figure appears in the proxy filed around January.
What is and is not in the public record
- No Form 11-K exists for any Qualcomm 401(k) plan. EDGAR browse, company search and full-text search for CIK 0000804328 all return zero 11-K filings. Form 11-K attaches only where plan interests or employer stock are registered on Form S-8; every Qualcomm S-8 since 2008 registers an equity-incentive, LTIP or acquisition plan rather than the 401(k), and the plan holds no company stock fund requiring registration. High confidence.
- Self-directed brokerage account, confirmed. Qualcomm DEF 14A filed 2025-01-23, board statement in opposition to Proposal 5: the plan provides "a self-directed brokerage option that gives participants access to individual stocks, bonds, mutual funds from hundreds of fund families, and exchange-traded funds". The proxy does not name the provider. This is the best-sourced plan detail available.
- Vesting, reported as 50% after one year of service, 100% after two. Two independent secondary sources agreeing; no primary source. Medium confidence, stated as reported rather than as fact.
- COBRA continuation costs up to 102% of the total premium, including the employer-paid share. Statutory, IRC §4980B.
- Substantially equal periodic payments under IRC §72(t) permit pre-59½ access without the 10% additional tax, subject to a rigid multi-year schedule; modifying or breaking the schedule triggers retroactive penalties.
- RSU treatment at vesting, the fair market value on the vesting date is ordinary compensation income. Long-term capital gains treatment applies only to appreciation after the vest date, on a holding period beginning then.
- Photography. Both images are stock photographs licensed under the Unsplash License, cleared 2026-08-16 against ARU's imagery standard as generic industry stock carrying no employer logo, livery, property or personnel. See content/landing_pages/_SOURCES.md.